Joint Annual Conference
of Academia Europaea and ALLEA

“Sustainability and Resilience”

4-6 September 2017
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary


Academia Europaea (AE) and ALLEA, the European Federation of Academies of Sciences and Humanities, have joined forces to organise their first joint international conference on “Sustainability and Resilience” in partnership with the Young Academy of Europe (YAE) and the Hungarian Academy of Sciences.

The meeting will take place in Budapest in the historic building of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences on the 4th, 5th and 6th of September 2017, with a number of pre-conference workshops on the 3rd and a post-conference field trip on the 7th of September.

Sustainability and Resilience is the main topic of the conference. In line with the evident commitment of both AE and ALLEA, the theme will be focusing primarily on Europe and the conference will enlighten various aspects of Europe’s Sustainability and Resilience: its heritage, its social system, its health, its economy, its climate, its science and research landscape and so on.

As the participating organisations represent the whole landscape of the sciences, including natural sciences, life sciences, humanities and the arts and social sciences, the speakers of the conference will paint a broad canvas of the facts and challenges in various areas and will offer their visions and solutions.

The program will also include the presentation of a number of awards and medals from Academia Europaea, ALLEA and YAE. These include; the Gold Medal of AE awarded to Helga Nowotny for her contribution to the development of European science; the 2017 Erasmus Medal of AE to Andreu Mas-Colell for his lifetime contribution to scholarship in Economics; the first ever Ádám Kondorosi Advanced Prize of the AE to Allan Downie for his pioneering research in symbiosis and plant sciences. The 2017 All European Academies Madame de Staël Prize for Cultural Values will honour Koen Lenaerts an eminent international law scholar and president of the Court of Justice of the European Union, for his significant contribution to the cultural and intellectual values of Europe and to the idea of European integration.  Last but not least, the very first prize of YAE will be conferred upon Rianne Letschert, Rector of Maastricht University, for her service to promotion of young researchers and women in science.

This, the first joint annual conference of AE and ALLEA promises to be a unique event in the contemporary history of Europe’s scientific establishment and your participation in it would be most welcomed by us, the Organisers:


Balázs Gulyás
Principal Organiser
  Sierd Cloetingh
Academia Europaea
  Günter Stock
Marcel Swart
Chair of Board,
Young Academy of Europe
  László Lovász
Hungarian Academy of Sciences